IW Council: new Conservative Group leader elected

The newly formed Conservative Group on the Isle of Wight Council yesterday evening (7th May) selected their new Group Leader following last week’s council elections – he is Cllr Dave Stewart – the councillor for Chale Niton and Whitwell.

Following his election to the position of Group Leader Cllr Stewart said: “I am pleased to have been selected for this role by my colleagues and I now look forward to building and leading our new team as we develop our approach to contribute effectively to the work of the new council.

“The previous Conservative administration introduced many positive policies and initiatives, including the Roads Improvement Programme, Waste Disposal Contract, Tourist Destination Marketing Group, Offshore tidal energy project, and Heritage Strategy – whist at the same time maintaining careful control of the budget.

“The new Conservative Group will now look to build on delivery of these positive policies and initiatives by supporting and scrutinising the work of the new administration – operating in a professional, ethical and respected manner, with integrity of purpose for the future benefit of all our Island Community.

“In particular we will be sounding the alarm if the new administration proceeds down roads that risk hiking up the council tax and placing further burdens on local families and businesses that are already having a tough time in the challenging economic climate.”

The 15-strong Conservative Group will now be preparing for the Annual General Meeting of the new Isle of Wight Council which takes place on the 15th May.

Cllr Chris Whitehouse (Newport West) was appointed Secretary to the Conservative Group.