The Isle of Wight Council is a unitary county authority which is responsible for all the main functions of local government on the Isle of Wight.

The Council is led by the Island Conservatives, who hold 25 out of 40 seats on the local authority, having won the 2017 local elections, and gaining a further seat in a by-election in June 2019. The Conservatives previously controlled the Council between 2005 and 2013.

The Leader of the Council (and the Conservative Group) is Cllr Dave Stewart, who is the member for Chale, Niton & Whitwell.

You can find out more about the Conservative Team on the Isle of Wight Council using the links on the left.